Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Julie Alvarez

August 3, 2011

When I was a kid, I remember watching people taking pictures (you know, normal people like you and me, both with automatic and manual cameras) and thinking that there were two kinds of them: the ones who wanted to capture the moment and wouldn’t care for the quality of the photo, and the ones who wanted to make a “good picture” and somehow kept missing the real moment. But at the same time I remember thinking that both of them were trying to create something that launched both a memory and a feeling. A reaction.

And then… then I grew up to think that I am a bit of both.

I am in love with visual arts, and studied cinema (although later I found that music and still photography were more “immediate” for me to express myself). I love photography, I just can’t help it. But also, a shift took place inside me over the years (and is still developing): I changed my old desire to capture an image alone or a moment alone, for what feels like an automatic desire to blend them both in one. And that is how I feel every time I capture a moment: I feel it and I see it.

28-07-2010 Una mañana en vacaciones de invierno / One morning on winter break

29-10-2010 Ultimos días de octubre / Last days of october

18-06-2011 Rumba

10-01-2011 Happy happy happy dancing

17-06-2010 Compartiendo lo simple / Sharing the simple

~*~
You can see more of Julie’s captured moments here in her Flickr photostream  and visit her lovely blog by clicking here
.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 11:03 AM

    great moments captured here julie!

  2. August 3, 2011 11:54 AM

    wow, I love your words, Julie, I love the idea of feeling and seeing a moment! and your beautiful images represent it wonderfully!!!

  3. August 3, 2011 12:54 PM

    you have written lovely words to go with you beautiful photos.

    congrats on a great post Julie.

  4. August 3, 2011 2:40 PM

    lovely! definitely a sense of feeling in your photos.

  5. August 3, 2011 6:04 PM

    remarkable words and utterly delightful photography! Simply love this.

    Kate x

  6. August 3, 2011 6:47 PM

    Beautiful Julie, as always!!!!♥

  7. August 3, 2011 10:24 PM

    wonderful post! Great moments captured in your beautiful photos!

  8. August 4, 2011 8:05 AM

    beautiful photos :)

  9. August 4, 2011 3:39 PM

    lovely photos and sentiment!

  10. August 4, 2011 6:22 PM

    Your photos are so full of movement and vitality. I can live the moments with you. I think my favorite of the set is very last one, all the hands kneading the dough together.

  11. August 4, 2011 8:33 PM

    that’s how i feel. a bunch of times i’ve been told that taking pictures of your life isn’t any interesting for anybody, but i feel just the opposite. I try to catch moments, feelings, to remember and to share with others. That is what i love! Some people see it, some other don’t, but the thing is to express what is in your inside. :)

  12. sarah permalink
    August 9, 2011 4:41 PM

    love your write up about capturing moments!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 529 other followers

