Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Justine Christianson

August 24, 2011

My favorite boys

I feel compelled to document photographically moments with my two boys, to help remember
in future days when their little hands sought mine. As a new mother, you are told to treasure the
time with your baby because it goes by so fast, and I can attest that, based on my few years of
mothering, time passes quickly. I not only want to document this time for me, but also for them,
so they have a record of their childhood.

photo bomb

It can be a challenge to capture children; mine are whirling dervishes, full of energy and light. I
like to photograph them candidly, when they are engrossed in play so we can be reminded of the
sound effects accompanying their involved games, recall their vivid imaginations in which good
guys defeat the bad ones and stuffed animals talk and have elaborate social lives. I am trying to
document not just the events but the places in between, those quiet (and not-so-quiet) moments
when they are just being kids.

DSC_0275_2

So I sit and click away, often having to stop to smooth over quarrels or re-attach some Lego
piece. I often let them do their thing rather than directing or trying to get a picture of them
together, looking at me, and smiling. By doing so, I feel I can capture a truer representation of
our lives and reveal their personalities more fully, which is ultimately what I am striving to do
when I pick up my camera.

boys and duck, luray garden

~*~

You can see more of Justine’e wonderful moments here

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 11:50 AM

    Really very lovely pics.

  2. ollielook@thesky permalink
    August 24, 2011 11:53 AM

    Cool moments. what a nice idea for a blog post.

  3. Krista permalink
    August 24, 2011 3:55 PM

    Love it!

  4. justycinmd permalink
    August 24, 2011 8:02 PM

    thanks for the opportunity to guest post! have loved reading everyone’s thoughts.

  5. August 31, 2011 2:52 AM

    hey! just spotted this–awesome words and photos, justine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

