Skip to content

These moments Thursday

June 30, 2011

market-day 9
ShannonShaw
market-day 9

~*~

Hanging with the clouds
betsyblue
Hanging with the clouds

My daughter has been working on the monkey bars for a full year now.
Determined.
And a few weeks ago she learned how to do them smoothly.
I couldn’t be more proud.

~*~

give me more of that
*kuki*
give me more of that

yesterday was sooo indulging. soaked up all the sun (that’s why it’s gone today again, ha ha)
and had this uforgettable fun. one joyful day of summer.

~*~

Morty, the Happy Bulldog
abstract by nature
Morty, the Happy Bulldog

My friend’s Bulldog, Morty, he’s such a good boy!

~*~

Sew BAM! {27/52}
beauty_goodness_truth
Sew BAM! {27/52}

I got my sewing machine out today to make some curtains for the girls’ room. This activity, more than any other, connects me to my maternal lineage. It reminds me so much of my childhood . . . the rhythmic sound of the needle stitching . . . the “click” of the foot being set into place . . . the gentle cascade of fabric falling from the table. . .

My mother loved to sew. She made the majority of my clothes when I was a girl. Her mother was a seamstress by trade. It was an employable skill, and one that she put to use after immigrating from Austria, even before she could speak English. I still have memories of my grandmother cutting the thread with her teeth, and sewing at lightning speed. She had boxes of buttons and ribbons, and let me cut lengths of colorful bias tape to wear in my hair.

After I was finished the curtains, I let Emma sew for awhile. I wonder whether the sewing machine will hold as much meaning for her, when she gets older, as it does for me.

~*~

Playing
slightly everything
Playing

‘everything is a bit more fun when I do it with Tom!”

~*~

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 2, 2011 9:04 PM

    beautiful as ever!

Leave a Reply

