Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Marina Sorr

August 2, 2011

Most of the times when I pick up my camera I am looking for the feeling of being fully focused on creating images of beauty from what I see in the world around me. When I can be there, I let go of so much of what churns almost ceaselessly in my mind.

 

daring lace

 

I love to discover what happens if I move around my camera and try different points of views. If I create a time and space within myself in which I can look at a little wildflower, for example, and experiment. I love the feeling that at the beginning I do not know where this exploration will lead me. And that the result will be different each time, even if I try to photograph the same flower over and over again. The sensation that each time I click my shutter I am capturing something which exists only for an instant. That the light will change, a breeze might make the flower move, or a petal can curl up and dry, that I will inevitably set my camera differently, that the focus will not be exactly where it was a moment earlier.

 

on the shapes of weeds

 

At times I love to play with my camera from where I am, letting myself learn how to create a beautiful image from what is around me in that moment. Sitting in the shade of a tree, in a park, on a hot summer afternoon, I have let myself dive into experimenting with light and the shape of weeds.

 

an abstract of water drops and light - july 2011 edition

 

Sometimes I feel so lucky. As in this summer afternoon, almost at the golden hour, when the sprinklers were on in a park I love. I lay down in the grass on my belly and started to click. I was so elated at the images I was capturing that I would have jumped in joy while at the same time not daring to breathe too deeply to avoid risking that perfect moment disappear too quickly.

 

light and seawater drops and pebbles - july 2011 edition

 

And then there are the times when I can be on the seaside (I love the sea, I have been daydreaming throughout all my childhood to become a fish, or a dolphin). And focusing on the play of light and water, on pebbles for example, is pure joy.

~*~

You can see more of Marina Sorr’s beautiful photography here.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 10:35 AM

    Oh gosh I simply love the bokeh in these photos. a perfect first guest post! x

  2. August 2, 2011 11:15 AM

    beautiful post marina. i love how you describe the feeling of capturing something that only lasts an instant. perfect.

  3. August 2, 2011 12:01 PM

    i also love how you describe how you capture moments and the photography that goes along with it. Well done Marina.

  4. August 2, 2011 1:31 PM

    truly inspiring photos and words. well done🙂

  5. August 2, 2011 2:31 PM

    love the moments you become raveled in your photography. i think many of us feel the same!

  6. August 2, 2011 3:49 PM

    Beautiful post Marina! You’re images are stunning : )

  7. August 2, 2011 5:09 PM

    Beautiful moments Marina!!!!!!

  8. justycinmd permalink
    August 2, 2011 6:23 PM

    well capture, both in words and images!

  9. August 2, 2011 10:32 PM

    Beautiful and inspiring word and gorgeous images!

  10. August 3, 2011 5:45 AM

    Beautiful!

  11. August 3, 2011 10:42 AM

    Beautiful Marina! The colors are stunning!

  12. GailO permalink
    August 3, 2011 10:45 PM

    Beautiful words! Beautiful photos!

  13. August 4, 2011 8:15 AM

    thank you so much to Kate and Joey for choosing to include this in their Capturing Moments series, it’s been such a gift for me! and I am very curious to discover all guest posts that will follow!
    and thank you all of you for these so kind comments, you’ve truly warmed my heart!!!

  14. August 5, 2011 2:20 PM

    Fabulous post, Marina! I love your images, and your words are lovely.

  15. August 5, 2011 3:14 PM

    Terrific photos. Thank you for sharing.

  16. sarah permalink
    August 9, 2011 4:10 PM

    beautiful!!

  17. August 29, 2011 8:34 PM

    Properly put from an awesome blogger

  18. November 1, 2012 2:00 PM

    beautiful words and images !

Leave a Reply

