Skip to content

Moments with… conversation

August 14, 2011

This week’s Moments with… are a bit special for me as I’ve had a helper. My flatmate Mel is a portrait and wedding photographer; she used to lead a very busy lifestyle though and had little time for the internet and other visual pleasures. Recently, she has changed the way she sees time and that means, amongst other things, the photography world is a little bit richer again. She has seen me get all excited at this blog and the amazing moments people share here, she hears me say how lucky I am to be working with Kate, and naturally she started seeing what the group was all about. Like you and me and all of us here, she thinks this group is special and she was very happy to help me with this week’s theme – conversation; for she’s a very good talker🙂
On we go…

waiting for the train b&w greece
jmeyersforeman
waiting for the train b&w greece

Street photography is something that has always intrigued me, at the same time it strikes terror into my heart. As I wander around with my camera I see so many interesting people doing interesting things some I have photographed, others I have let pass. I spotted these gentlemen sitting on the opposite train platform waiting for their train, having quite a visit. I had the camera sitting on my lap, and clicked a couple of frames. I can’t be sure if the two gentleman noticed I had taken a picture, I had been sitting with three very pretty young ladies, so I think they were looking at them, not me!

The dilemma about street photography is taking pictures of people unaware and using them in appropriately, but there are times when asking permission spoils the moment. I try to be sensitive to quiet emotional moments. But I do want to catch the very real moment, and once you have gotten someone’s attention or asked permission they do become at least a self-conscious, and it does take a while for them to relax again. But without permission you cannot judge how someone will react to having their photo taken without permission.

There have been times when I have grabbed the shot, and then spoken to people, deleting if necessary, emailing copies when asked. But I have to say that this is still an area that intimidates me, and that I have promised my-self that I would work on street photography! I have realized that I can’t wait to be more comfortable, I have to work at this and become more comfortable!

I have also decided to participate in the wordpress postaday2011 challenge. I have been posting regularly for quite some time and convinced myself I can manage this goal successfully, so I am now making the committment.

What are you waiting for

~*~

The Be Good Tanyas
betsyblue
The Be Good Tanyas

Performing at the Winnipeg Folk Festival.

~*~

What's the story?
Monica & Cebolinha
what’s the story?

Since I’ve watched date night, I try to do what they did in the movie, to try to guess what’s the story behind every single scene I see…
Obviously, I caught these two little girls in a very “serious business” moment. So, I wonder… What were the girls talking about when I shot them? Do you want to write the story in your own words?

Best viewed in Light Box

282/365

~*~

Toe Dippers
newbietam
Toe Dippers

Cassandra and her new friend at the cottage.

~*~


ShannonShaw

~*~

Mosquito time
valerieloiret in the USA
Mosquito time

~*~

After the run
njholloway
After the run

~*~

Karen and Jon_IMG_3979  c
jmeyersforeman
Karen and Jon_IMG_3979 c

winter engagement session, fish creek provincial park

~*~~

Always by his side...
TinyAcorn
Always by his side…

My husband didn’t plan on raising a child at this stage of our life, but he is always there…every day..in every way.

~*~

Our Cafe.
thelittleleaf
Our Cafe.

Only serves doughnuts and pink milk.
Which you have to pay for using plastic coins.
There is also a strict ‘one shoe only’ dress code.
(film)

~*~

In the morning they read... Oh how  I love their love of books.
slightly everything
In the morning they read… Oh how I love their love of books.

“does love wear out,” said Small, “does it break or bend? Can you fix it, stick it, does it mend?”
“Oh help,” said Large, “I’m not that clever, I just know I’ll love you for ever.”.
– No Matter What by Debi Gliori

~*~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. toemailer permalink
    August 14, 2011 6:18 PM

    We would love to post thelittleleaf at toemail if you do not mind?

    Would just need a location and we’d be good to go!

    http://toemail.wordpress.com

    • August 14, 2011 6:36 PM

      It was taken in England as far as I know.

      We at These Moment’s don’t own the right to the photograph. You may post it as part of a link to this post. Or if you click on the photograph you could send the photographer a Flickr mail and ask the photographers permission. Thank you for your comment. x

Leave a Reply

