Skip to content

Capturing Moments With Katie Austin

August 16, 2011

I tend to look at life a little bit differently.

I notice the incidentals, the items that tend to be overlooked, the slightly magical side of life.

Growing up, my family took a lot of hikes. During these hikes my father would point out different plants, trees, fish darting about in creeks. He knew all the names of those plants, those trees, those fish darting about in the water.

He noticed the little details in life.

And with every name, there would be a story or an old wives tale attached. I loved these stories, the glint of mischief Dad would get in his eyes when he’d recall certain afternoons from his boyhood, or the dreamy far away look that would settle on his face when he’d tell the way his mom would look forward to the blooming of the wild pasture roses in the cow pastures, how much she loved the old fashioned smell.

I now have two of those bushes in my back yard, dug up carefully from Dad’s boyhood farm and carted back to my house. I go out daily and check for new buds in the spring, and I delight in the first dainty blossoms, praising the bushes for making it through yet another tough Arkansas winter.

It’s Dad’s stories and love of nature that influence the way I look at life and subsequently, photograph the things I see. I’ve always been in love with sunlight, the way it chases itself throughout our house, the way it creeps across our grass, highlighting the roses, the corn in our heat devastated vegetable patch, then jumping the fence and landing in our next door neighbor’s yard to continue it’s journey.

I can sit and watch that journey all morning.

It’s that magic that I seek to capture, the little things that we tend to overlook, but which fascinates and mystifies me at the same time.

Because isn’t the whole world , life, full of magic and wonder and childhood stories waiting to be told?

~*~

You can catch Katie on Flickr here 
You can read her blog here 
You can peruse more at Katie’s store here 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 8:53 AM

    Thankyou for introducing me to so many fantastic photographers. I’ve just has a look at Katies blog, and can see it becoming a daily read.

    Love your blog…xxx

  2. August 16, 2011 12:19 PM

    What a simple and beautiful post. Well done Katie!

  3. August 16, 2011 3:11 PM

    Thank you for letting me spill my thoughts here. It’s been wonderful reading all the different writers you’ve featured so far this month! Thanks again!

  4. August 16, 2011 3:18 PM

    such a beautiful and inspiring post…

  5. August 16, 2011 9:12 PM

    lovely story & picture to accompany it🙂

  6. August 17, 2011 4:28 PM

    lovely! I have a degree in biology and so tend to tell my kiddos the scientific name of everything (if I know it) or at least the correct name for things😀 I am glad to see that it is a fond memory of yours and hope my children appreciate it when they are older.

  7. August 25, 2011 12:55 AM

    Wonderful writing. Such pure poetry I had to read it aloud.

Leave a Reply

