Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Lucia Olazabal

August 31, 2011

My life is usually an endless whirl filled with the most diverse activities.

Running around all day long, with my girls, the house chores, the kitchen, the bread making, my knitting, etc.

Most of the things I do, I do at home. And sometimes it’s hard for me to stop, breathe and appreciate consciously the present moment.

Any given noon, for example, while the food is in the oven, while I help my daughter with her math homework, while the water boils in the kettle and the washing machine finishes its job, while the phone rings and the cat demands for its food, suddenly, something catches my eye. I’m aware of the thousand chores I’ve ahead of me. And yet. Time stops and a profound connection happens, between that image that penetrates through my eyes to the very core of me, so deep that I can’t care anymore for the rest of the things: my daughter, the oven, the cat, the water, none of them.

More than capturing a moment, that moment, with no doubt, is capturing me. Those pictures, those moments, sharing them later in my blog, those things are the support and nourishment of my creativity. And what prevents me to fall in a monotony with no return.

With each one I get closer to myself. With each one I love more what I do. With each one I respect myself more. And I hope with all my soul to be able to show my daughters that Beauty is always everywhere we are willing to see it .

~*~

~*~

~*~

~*~

~*~
{with special thanks to Lucia’s sister in law, Daphne, her dear friend Victoria, and cousin Flor. For making this post possible}

Visit Lucia’s lovely  blog  here

and see  more of Lucia’s beautiful photography  on Flickr  here

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 1:33 PM

    I’m so so very happy Lucia got to this place.
    These moments, her moment, showing her photographs.
    Loving it!

  2. August 31, 2011 3:39 PM

    I can’t take my eyes off the first photograph, so tender!
    Bravo Lucia, qué hermosos sentires 🙂

  3. August 31, 2011 3:43 PM

    Yay, Lux!!! You is one of a kind, that’s for sure.

  4. August 31, 2011 3:46 PM

    Lucia, your pics are amazing, awesome and breathtaking with their simplicity. Congrats on your capacity to isolate from your noisy world around and get the very best of an image and a moment you want to communicate.

  5. Barbara permalink
    August 31, 2011 4:12 PM

    Love this entry, love the photos and her words!

  6. August 31, 2011 4:48 PM

    Gasp! I love this post! Beautiful – words and photos!! Thank you for sharing it.

  7. Daphne permalink
    August 31, 2011 5:33 PM

    My pleasure!!! hugs Daphne

  8. August 31, 2011 7:10 PM

    Lovely post! Wonderful words and great photos.

  9. August 31, 2011 10:03 PM

    Lu como siempre hermoso!!! Qué lindo que salío todo!!!

  10. September 1, 2011 9:06 PM

    i totally adore lucia and read her blog as a ritual, every day, since God knows when. her writing is superb (i understand spanish fluently) and laugh and laugh and laugh at her descriptions of events in her daily life. one of my favorites is a story of when her mate spilled on her keyboard. i can’t wait to meet her in person when i travel to argentina again towards the end of the year.

  11. September 4, 2011 1:42 AM

    Great post!!! I follow Lucia´s blog and it is woderfull!!!

  12. September 5, 2011 11:44 AM

    your description of the moments capturing you and of the preciousness of these moments is wonderful, and so inspiring! and your photos are all so intense. I love all your portraits, how you captured the liveliness, the rest, the eager expression of the women in the tent(?). and how you truly found beauty in the things we have around us everyday in the two photos without people (and their colours are adorable!)!

  13. September 8, 2011 11:28 PM

    Graaaaaacias!!! Thaaaanks!!!!! Reciencito leo esto, que distraida!!! Me emocionaron, en serio!!! I ♥ These Moments!!!!

Leave a Reply

