Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Heather Halotek ~ htekmo

September 7, 2011

I recently took my sister out with her new camera for a crash course on how to use it. Not that I am an expert by any means – not even close – but lesson one really speaks to the absolute best way I find to capture moments. This lesson has become a little joke between us and maybe even a mantra as well.

And here it is…Lesson One:
”You can’t take a picture if you don’t have your camera.”
Silly, isn’t it? And not very technical. But, if you think about it – it is good advice for someone who wants to capture moments.

I wasn’t one who always carted my camera around but last year I decided to take part in a 365 project and this really changed the way I took photos. It changed my perspective on how I looked at things. I used it as a journal and for one year my camera came everywhere with me.

I brought it from the supermarket.
stop and rock at the stop and shop

to our bathroom
routine

It allowed me to smile
smiles for the future

and sometimes just sigh
the swing of things

Capturing moments is all about observation. Seeing or even feeling something ordinary, clicking, capturing and remembering the ordinary as something special.

…even if it is the road always traveled
Head to the Light

Now that the project is over I am not obligated to carry the camera with me but I have to say that when I leave my house without it I always think “Heather, you can’t take a picture if you don’t have your camera.”

~*~

You can see more of Heather’s wonderfully captured moments here ~ http://www.flickr.com/photos/htekmo/

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 8:41 AM

    I love the last two photos in particular! And the 365 project is a super great idea! 🙂

  2. September 7, 2011 9:06 AM

    awesome shots!!! (and so happy to have had a chance to see again some which I have loved in the past months!!!) I especially love the bright colours and fun of the first three, the postures and expressions of your two gorgeous boys, that amazing bokeh in the bathroom, the sweetness of your daughter’s face, and the dreaminess and light of the last one.
    congratulations on having completed your 365 project, so far I have not felt brave enough to start it, but your photos and words are a great encouragement!!!
    and I love your very simple and effective description of what capturing moments is for you! and I think I will repeat to myself your lesson one a lot, thank you!

  3. September 7, 2011 9:44 AM

    Nice !

  4. September 7, 2011 11:06 AM

    great advice, love your images!

  5. kim permalink
    September 7, 2011 3:39 PM

    You are my photographic inspiration. I always learn from watching you. And I always remember your words, “sunshine is not your friend.”

  6. September 7, 2011 4:24 PM

    Wonderful post and awesome images!

  7. September 10, 2011 4:29 AM

    Hi Heather! Wonderful photos, and your words are true!

Leave a Reply

