Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Sarah / ~ sifting life

September 20, 2011

What first inspired me to capture moments began at age 16, influenced by the guy I was dating at that time and who is now my husband. In those young days he frequently carried his old 35mm camera around with him, shutter-bugging just about everywhere he went. I helped develop the black and white film and print the photos in his small apartment darkroom. Often I was the subject of those photos, and we still have all of that darkroom equipment now, tho it is gathering dust in our attic. He also introduced me to Ansel Adams photography instructional books and from there began my love of photography.

At age 21 I got my first SLR flim camera and started capturing my own moments. I took some black & white photography classes at a community college at age 24. Advance to my late twenties, two children born and we started living a life learners life/ unschooling life with our kids. Inspiration to photographically journal my family and my enviroment came easily, and was/is bolstered by reading photographically rich essays, books and blogs on the daily lives of people from all walks of life . Also many friends, acquaintances and family members would ask “what do you do al lday as unschoolers?” So I started to photographically capture moments in our lives. I enjoyed capturing the moments we spend together and the moments I stumble upon specially those magical moments that are captured without being posed.

Mainly these moments were to share with out of state family members.Then I found Flickr and was inspired by all the people that post and capture moments of their lives. I use my digital camera on completely manual settings, I’m always adjusting film speed, aperture and f stop, light and some, sometimes this causes me to miss the moment. Yet, I know there is always another moment to capture around the corner. Hopefully in thenear future I will move back to an SLR, a digital camera rather than a film type this time.

~*~

See more of Sarah’s lovely photography here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/22661510@N08/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 12:00 PM

    Nice !

  2. September 20, 2011 12:01 PM

    that photo is breathtakingly intense, I love it!!!!
    and I love your story of your love of photography, it is such a beautiful gift to let us see this of you!

  3. September 22, 2011 6:34 PM

    I love the photograph in this post. Wonderful words.

Leave a Reply

