Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Urban Muser

September 28, 2011

Capturing moments on the streets of New York City inspires me. Whether it’s with my DSLR or my iPhone, there is just something about the spontaneity–the thrill of capturing a single, random moment in time with someone that I will most likely never see again. Luckily for me I live in a place where the streets are constantly alive and buzzing with activity.

the guys in the band

I can spend hours weaving my way through the streets, hovering on corners or sitting on a bench trying to capture the essence and the spirit of the city. There are a thousand stories behind each photo, each person viewing them having their own interpretation of just what these moments are.

dog walker

Sometimes I’ll even get so lucky as to capture a moment that looks like it could be from another place and time. Several months ago I saw this woman walking down Broadway towards me and I immediately knew I had to have a photo of her in this stylish retro outfit.

the hat

And then there are times when black and white just won’t adequately capture the color and energy of New York City, its people and its streets.

the watch salesman

lady in red

People often inquire whether I ask permission to take these photos–I should tell you that I do not. For me it’s about the candid moment that, no matter how hard you try, gets lost the second you ask if it’s OK. While I admire those who step up and ask permission {that’s hard to do!} my style is to shoot and quietly move on with that moment in time captured forever through my lens.

~*~
Visit Urban Muser’s wonderful blog here:- http://www.urbanmuser.com/

and every two weeks you will find her blogging over at the lovely Mortal Muses here:- http://mortalmuses.com/

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 11:26 AM

    Love this post! I follow her work, It is so beautiful =)

  2. September 28, 2011 11:42 AM

    I had been hoping that there would have been a guest post from you!
    I admire so much your photos of people in the NYC streets, they capture moments so rich they create the possibilities of myriads of stories. and they are a celebration of the people you photograph and of life.
    and I loved reading your words here, they complement so beautifully your images.

  3. September 28, 2011 12:57 PM

    Love this post – you really know how to capture the essence of NY. I always look forward to your photos my friend.

  4. September 28, 2011 2:58 PM

    I’m totally loving how you capture these moments through your lens 🙂

  5. September 28, 2011 3:38 PM

    Such a great post! Love your work and love how you capture NYC. Always wonderful and inspiring.

  6. September 28, 2011 4:57 PM

    Lovely captures of life in your city!

  7. September 29, 2011 2:16 AM

    thanks ladies for having me as a guest poster today—and thanks to everyone for your lovely comments!

Leave a Reply

