Skip to content

Capturing Moments with Blair Stretch

October 4, 2011

As I capture life’s moments through my lens, I have been asking myself this
question: Who are you taking this shot for? By asking this, I am examining my own
motives behind photographing that certain subject, at a certain time, in a certain way.

For me, it is a hard balance. I tend to shoot as an idealist – hoping my photos will
portray my world (and display my abilities to capture it) in a really attractive, interesting, and genuine way. I shoot as the kind of person I hope others will view me as.
But as I consider my motives more closely I am coming to see that this idealism
really means that I am shooting for someone else, and in doing so losing much of my
own creative spirit and authenticity. The reason it is a hard balance is because there
is so much inspiring work out there; most days I scan through my contact’s photos and
different blogs and groups and feel amazed at the volume of truly stunning pictures I
see. So my reaction to this is to tend toward portraying my world from this ‘inspired’
point of view. While inspiration is precious and imperative to shooting any great photo, I
have to make sure that inspiration does not cross into losing my genuine perspective on
the world.

And so my challenge for you is the same: Who are you shooting for? Is it for
yourself? For your Flickr contacts? Your family? The person you hope to be? Your
friends? …None of the answers are necessarily better than the next, but realizing your
own motives for capturing moments can be an enlightening and important step toward
taking more genuinely beautiful photos.

Hey Cat. II

bulles au soleil

A Utility. I

.

.

~*~

Visit Blairs Flickr here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bmstretch/
His wonderful Tumblr here : http://bulbandmirror.tumblr.com/
Or why not follow him on Twitter here: http://twitter.com/blairstretch

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 3:44 PM

    Wow – I really love your photos – thanks for sharing!

  2. October 5, 2011 9:47 PM

    Thank you Blair, your words really put things into perspective. Beautiful photos of your view of the world!

Leave a Reply

